English   Deutsch   English   Français
You are here: Company > history > how it all began...
 

how it all began...

It is the year 1919. The defeat of the 'German Empire' leads to the end of the monarchy. The first german democracy arises. It's also the year, where the brothers Hubert and Leonhard Hofmann founded a company for producing agricultural machinery. This company were located in the Spitalgasse, in the ground floor of the former local vocational school.

After the inflation of 1923 the crisis years 1923 and 1924 get the company really into serious trouble. Leonhard Hofmann overcame it with great effort and ability. A prosperous boom began. In December 1925 Leonhard Hofmann gained his master's certificate, in November 1927 the company moved to 'Schellenfeld', the today's 'Hofmannstraße'. The invetsments increased clearly: the company presents itself in good condition with the new building of the foundry and of an assembly hall.

The Wall Street Crash and the following start of the global economic crisis in 1929 cause new trouble. But the company is not seriously affected by the turbulances on the global market. In the middle of the year 1934 the two company founders went their own ways. Leonhard took over the 'Maschinenfabrik', Hubert carried on the business of the foundry.

1933 the Nazis succeeded with the 'takeover', the unemployment went down continuously. During the concurrent recovery of the economy, Hofmann build another production hall for producing ball bearing houses and bandsaws.

On the 1st of September 1939 the second world war begins. At that time the factory employs 122 workers. The transfer to the wartime economy - Hofmann becomes an arms factory - takes place without bigger problems. But the lack of manpower because of the conscription of employees together with the shortage of raw materials on the market make the prduction more and more difficult.

Deutsch   Deutsch   English   Français
Sie befinden sich hier: Unternehmen > Geschichte > Wie alles begann
 

Wie alles begann ...

Man schreibt das Jahr 1919. Die Niederlage des Deutschen Kaiserreiches führt zum Ende der Monarchie. Die erste deutsche Demokratie entsteht.  Es ist auch das Jahr, in dem die Brüder Hubert und Leonhard Hofmann in der Windsheimer Spitalgasse, im Erdgeschoss der früheren Berufsschule, eine Firma zur Fertigung landwirtschaftlicher Maschinen gründen.

Nach der Inflation von 1923 bringen die Krisenjahre 1923 und 1924 den Betrieb in ernsthafte Schwierigkeiten. Leonhard Hofmann überwindet sie mit großem Einsatz und Geschick. Ein florierender Aufschwung setzt ein. Im Dezember 1925 legt Leonhard Hofmann seine Meisterprüfung ab, im November 1927 erfolgt der Umzug ins Schellenfeld, der heutigen Hofmannstraße. Die Investitionen steigen deutlich an: Mit dem Neubau der Eisengießerei und einer Montagehalle präsentiert sich das Unternehmen in guter Verfassung.

Der New Yorker Börsenkrach und die darauf einsetzende Weltwirtschaftskrise 1929 bringen neue Schwierigkeiten. Das Unternehmen ist allerdings nicht gravierend von den Turbulenzen am Weltmarkt betroffen. Mitte des Jahres 1934 trennen sich die beiden Firmengründer. Leonhard übernimmt die Maschinenfabrik, Hubert führt die Eisengießerei weiter.

1933 gelingt den Nationalsozialisten die "Machtergreifung", die Arbeitslosigkeit sinkt kontinuierlich. Im gleichzeitigen Wirtschaftsaufschwung errichtet Hofmann 1936 eine weitere Fertigungshalle zur Produktion von Kugellagergehäusen und Bandsägen.

Am 1. September 1939 beginnt der Zweite Weltkrieg. Das Werk beschäftigt zu dieser Zeit 122 Mitarbeiter. Der Übergang zur Kriegswirtschaft - Hofmann wird Rüstungsbetrieb - vollzieht sich zunächst ohne größere Stockungen. Mit dem Arbeitskräftemangel durch die Einberufung von Werksangehörigen zum Militärdienst und dem Rohstoffmangel am Markt wird die Produktion jedoch zunehmend schwieriger.