English   Deutsch   English   Français
You are here: Company > history > the post-war period
 

the post-war period

In april 1945 the US-Army marches into Franconia. Eugen Weber acts as trustee for the company. Applicable material and steel become very rare and are only available with ration coupons from the gouvernment. At first stoves are produced from salvage and remainders. But already in 1946 a new foundry could be built. Flat irons, vices and saw filing machines are manufactored as part of the extended production.

After the currency reform in 1948 the company profits from the general boom in the beginning time of the "Economic Miracle". The fiduciary administration ends and Leonhard Hofmann is able to take over his company again. The situation changes in general for every single person and also for the company. The western Allies agree on an involvement of Germany on the "European Recovery Programme". The currency reform takes effect, the "Deutsche Mark" is established as payment method. Finally basic materials are sufficiently available. In the same year Hofmann participates on the 1st International Crafts Fair in Munich.

In the course of the successful restart the manufactoring of drilling and woodworking machines is established. The production of drilling machines has been stopped after a short period, because a market saturation of this products was foreseeable. Finally Hofmann concentrates on woodworking machines and chnages its production completely over to it.

Deutsch   Deutsch   English   Français
Sie befinden sich hier: Unternehmen > Geschichte > Die Nachkriegszeit
 

Die Nachkriegszeit

Im April 1945 rücken US-amerikanische Truppen in Franken ein. Für das Werk wird mit Eugen Weber ein Treuhänder bestellt. Fertigungsmaterial und Stahl sind sehr knapp und nur auf Bezugsschein der Regierung erhältlich. Aus Altmaterial und Restbeständen werden zunächst Küchenherde gefertigt. Doch bereits 1946 kann eine neue Gießerei gebaut werden. Im Zuge der erweiterten Produktion werden Teile von Bügeleisen, Schraubstöcken und Sägefeilmaschinen hergestellt.

Nach der Währungsreform 1948 profitiert das Unternehmen vom allgemeinen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung in der beginnenden Zeit des "Wirtschaftswunders". Die treuhänderische Verwaltung endet und Leonhard Hofmann kann seinen Betrieb wieder übernehmen. Die allgemeine Situation ändert sich für den Einzelnen wie für das Unternehmen. Die westlichen Alliierten einigen sich auf eine Beteiligung Deutschlands am "Europäischen Wiederaufbauprogramm". Die Währungsreform tritt in Kraft, die Deutsche Mark wird als Zahlungsmittel eingeführt. Rohstoffe sind auf dem freien Markt wieder ausreichend zu beziehen. Im gleichen Jahr beteiligt sich Hofmann an der 1. Handwerksmesse in München.

Im Zuge des gelungenen Neuanfangs wird die Fertigung von Bohr- und Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen aufgebaut. Die Herstellung von Bohrmaschinen wird nach einigen Jahren aufgegeben, da eine Marktsättigung dieser Produkte vorauszusehen war. Hofmann konzentriert sich schließlich auf Holzbearbeitungsmaschinen und stellt die Fertigung komplett darauf um.